PUAS = Postal Union of the Americas and Spain - Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, El Salvador, Spain (including the Balearic Islands, Canary Islands, Alhucemas Islands, Ceuta, Chaferinas or Zafarani Islands, Mellila, Penon de Velez de la Gomera, Tangier, and Andorra via Spain), Uruguay and Venezuela.

The Union began in 1911. From the text of the 1946 agreement, which is typical: "The postage rates of the domestic service of each country will govern in the relations of the countries which constitute the Postal Union of the Americas and Spain, except when said domestic rates are higher than those applicable to correspondence destined for countries of the Universal Postal Union, in which case the latter will govern."

Page back